---
title: "Manage asset cleanup rules | Lansweeper Platform"
slug: "manage-asset-cleanup-rules"
description: "Set up asset cleanup rules in Lansweeper to automatically remove outdated assets from your inventory, or delete them manually when no longer needed."
updated: 2026-06-12T13:31:20Z
published: 2026-06-12T13:31:20Z
canonical: "docs.lansweeper.com/manage-asset-cleanup-rules"
---

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.lansweeper.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Manage asset cleanup rules

Once an asset is scanned and added to your inventory, Lansweeper won't remove it unless instructed to do so. You can manually delete old assets, or have them removed automatically using cleanup rules. For user cleanup rules, see [Delete users](/docs/delete-users).

## Configure asset cleanup rules

1. In your Lansweeper site, go to **Assets > Settings**.
2. Select **Cleanup rules**.
3. After configuring your rules, select **Save changes**.

## Available cleanup rules

### All assets

- **Set non-active assets as active when they are rescanned** — Automatically sets any non-active asset to active when it's rescanned.
- **Set assets to non-active if not seen in the last X days** — Sets assets to non-active if they haven't been detected within the last X days. Only affects assets that have been successfully scanned at least once. Non-active assets are excluded from most reports.
- **Permanently delete assets not seen in the last X days** — Deletes assets from your inventory if they haven't been detected in the last X days. Only affects assets that have been successfully scanned at least once.

              Deletion can't be undone

              

Deleting assets can't be undone without restoring a database backup.

### Network visibility (Asset Radar)

- **Set passively detected assets to non-active if not seen in the last X days** — Sets passively detected assets to non-active if they haven't been detected within the last X days. Only affects assets that have been successfully scanned at least once.
- **Permanently delete passively detected assets not seen in the last X days** — Deletes passively detected assets from your inventory if they haven't been detected in the last X days. Only affects assets that have been successfully scanned at least once.
- **Set passively detected assets of the types "Unknown" and "Network device" to non-active if not seen in the last X days** — Sets Unknown and Network device assets to non-active if they haven't been detected within the last X days. Only affects assets that have been successfully scanned at least once.
- **Permanently delete passively detected assets of the types "Unknown" and "Network device" if not seen in the last X days** — Deletes Unknown and Network device assets from your inventory if they haven't been detected in the last X days. Only affects assets that have been successfully scanned at least once.

### Active Directory

- **Permanently delete computers disabled in Active Directory** — Deletes computers from your inventory if they're disabled in Active Directory. Only affects assets that have been successfully scanned at least once.
- **Set computers to non-active if disabled in Active Directory** — Sets computers to non-active if they're disabled in Active Directory. Only affects assets that have been successfully scanned at least once.

## Hybrid installations

If your site uses both Lansweeper Platform and Lansweeper Classic, cleanup rules are managed separately across both products. Enabling asset cleanup rules in **Lansweeper Platform** will disable asset cleanup rules in **Lansweeper Classic**.

If your site is linked to a Lansweeper Classic installation that currently manages your cleanup rules, saving changes in your site will permanently transfer cleanup rule management to Lansweeper Platform and disable on-premises management.

              Update Lansweeper Classic before switching

              

Update Lansweeper Classic to version **12.5.1.1** or higher before switching. On-premises rules won't be blocked after switching to Lansweeper Platform unless you're on this version or higher.
