--- title: "Delete users | Lansweeper Platform" slug: "users" description: "Remove users from your Lansweeper inventory manually or automatically with cleanup rules to keep your user data accurate as people leave your organization." tags: ["Lansweeper Platform", "Inventory", "Users"] status: "update" updated: 2026-10-20T17:29:45Z published: 2026-10-20T17:29:45Z canonical: "docs.lansweeper.com/users" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.lansweeper.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Delete users You can remove users from your inventory manually or automatically using cleanup rules. For asset cleanup rules, see [Manage asset cleanup rules](/docs/manage-asset-cleanup-rules). ## Delete a user manually 1. Go to **Users** > **Views**. 2. Select the user you want to delete. 3. Select **Delete**. ## Automatic cleanup rules Cleanup rules remove users automatically based on conditions you set. To configure cleanup rules: 1. In your Lansweeper site, go to **Users > Settings**. 2. Select **Manage cleanup rules**. 3. After configuring your rules, select **Save changes**. ### All users - **Permanently delete users disabled in Active Directory** — Removes users from your inventory if they're disabled in Active Directory. Only affects users that have been successfully scanned at least once. - **Permanently delete users not seen in the last X days** — Deletes users from your inventory if they haven't been detected in the last X days. Only affects users that have been successfully scanned at least once. ## Hybrid installations If your site uses both Lansweeper Platform and Lansweeper Classic, cleanup rules are managed separately across both products. Enabling user cleanup rules in **Lansweeper Platform** will disable user cleanup rules in **Lansweeper Classic**. If your site is linked to a Lansweeper Classic installation that currently manages your cleanup rules, saving changes in your site will permanently transfer cleanup rule management to Lansweeper Platform and disable on-premises management. Update Lansweeper Classic before switching Update Lansweeper Classic to version **12.5.1.1** or higher before switching. On-premises rules won't be blocked after switching to Lansweeper Platform unless you're on this version or higher.